Premium accounts
are only £9.99 - Upgrade now

wireless networks?

Viewing forum thread.
Back to Technology chat.
Back to Forum List.

Deleted User
(IP Logged)
07:50 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
any one help me with this, just bought a wireless adapter for AOL ((the netgear)) and it cant seem to pick up the the signal to the router??

am i suuposed to have the non-wireless internet still running when installing the new wirleless one?

anybody know why it cant pick up the router?
madmiketyson
madmiketyson
Posts: 10,414
07:51 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
dunno mate all i know is wireless conncections have the uncanny ability to die at wqrong moment and get u knocked out of final or ranked game
Deleted User
(IP Logged)
07:53 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
oooh god lol
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
08:10 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
Thats technology Mike!

Knowing AOL, if you are upgrading from a non-wireless router it is probably best that you completely uninstall the existing software and start from scratch installing the new router.

ISP-specific drivers tend to be a lot less tolerant than generic ones.

If thats of no help, post back with a little more detial of your setup and we'll take it from there

Edited at 16:12 Sun 3/06/07 (BST)
Deleted User
(IP Logged)
08:24 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
its the same router that i am using at presant the
((netgear 54 mbps adsl wirelesss))

i have got windows xp, on a acer aspire p.c?

does this help spinner?

Edited at 16:25 Sun 3/06/07 (BST)
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
08:50 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
Ok. A bit clearer now!

I take it you have a wireless reciever card/usb adapter in the computer and want to connect using that?

You will have to make sure your router is transmitting. You'll have to consult the dreaded manual there tho.

Apologies if this seems over-simplified, but best to cover everything.
Deleted User
(IP Logged)
08:57 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
spinner said:
Ok. A bit clearer now!

I take it you have a wireless reciever card/usb adapter in the computer and want to connect using that?


yeh a wireless usb adapter mate, k ill have a look later and get back to you, cheers
Deleted User
(IP Logged)
10:12 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
EDIT = me being dull..sorry

Edited at 18:13 Sun 3/06/07 (BST)
beannie
beannie
Posts: 452
12:49 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
did you manage to do it? i have aol wireless installed on my comp so i might be able to help you.

I didnt have any problems installing from the cd it went suprisingly easy in all honesty.
Deleted User
(IP Logged)
12:58 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
nope havnt done it yet

just cant seem to pick up the router with the usb wireless adapter!
beannie
beannie
Posts: 452
13:04 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
is ur router working properly? i mean can you connect to it as a modem and not as wireless? I connected mine as a modem first then sorted out the wireless after that. i cant figure how far you got with it?
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
13:11 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
Just one little thing - do you pick up any other wireless points? it could be a reciever problem..
Deleted User
(IP Logged)
13:17 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
no, i dont pick up any other wireless points mate
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
13:27 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
Unusual, unless you live miles from nowhere (like me!)

I'll let beannie help as she has the same setup. If you're still stuck then getting a relation/mate with a wireless laptop to see if they can pick it up would be the next step.
Deleted User
(IP Logged)
13:39 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
i have a laptop will be trying it on there tomorrow!

god im dull! wish me luck

lol, cheers
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
13:58 Sun 3 Jun 07 (BST)  [Link]  
Dont put yourself down. Work has invested thousands in a cisco system but it's only up about 50% of the time.

Ironically home networks tend to be more reliable. I suspect its something simple you will just click and away you go. Let us know if the laptop see's anything...
Unable to post
Reason:You must log in before you can post

wireless networks?

Back to Top of this Page
Back to Technology chat.
Back to Forum List.