Premium accounts
are only £9.99 - Upgrade now

Java Solutions - from September 2015

Viewing forum thread.
Back to Game Queries.
Back to Forum List.

Pages: 1
2
349
derik_dalton
derik_dalton
Posts: 3,793
14:37 Sun 25 Oct 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
derik_dalton: Have you enabled javascript?

Google Chrome
Options
Advanced Settings
Content Settings (Under Privacy)
Make sure the box: Allow all sites to run javascript (recommended) is ticked.

Try that.


I'm sick er messing about we it tbh, get it right, then problems again, drives u mad
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
13:35 Mon 26 Oct 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Javascript is not required to run funkypool.

First post updated, latest version of java recommended as the security bug when playing premium members has been fixed.

Another reminder to only download java from JAVA.COM. So may issues end up being caused by budles bloatware from sites like cnet etc.

Also, if there are any ongoing issues, uninstall all versions of java via the control panel, and reboot, before installing the latest version.
_knightmare_
_knightmare_
Posts: 14,669
14:36 Mon 26 Oct 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
I didn't think it was but I had to enable mine.
fastboysam
fastboysam
Admin
Posts: 697
14:11 Wed 28 Oct 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Just for everyone to understand:-

We know there is a problem with java and premium at the moment where normal members who get a premium member in a tournament end up with the game freezing and then being booted out. We are currently testing to try and sort this out and will get back to you as soon as possible.

It is not any of the premium members fault and we appreciate your patience whilst we sort it out.


thanks
jacktripper
jacktripper
Posts: 11
22:25 Thu 29 Oct 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
spinner posted the solution on funkysnooker a day or two ago. Dont u guys talk?

Edit : its posted in this thread too! Just look up a bit.
dgeneratio
dgeneratio
Posts: 38,007
08:19 Fri 30 Oct 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
nice first post lol, spinners solution is okay but i am on Java 8 version 31 and on Opera, and no problems, last problem was when java was blocked and was the sites fault at the time.
jacktripper
jacktripper
Posts: 11
14:18 Fri 30 Oct 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Yes but not every one stays on an old version just for this site. Many other java based sites especially corporate ones require version 8.40 or higher. Therefore this affected lots of people. Like many, I had given up on snooker tournaments because of it.

I signed up to the pool forums because the post from fastboysam is misleading. The problem is solved. Its a shame if people are misled into thinking they should avoid in tournaments when they can play. I'm only trying to help!
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
17:32 Sun 15 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Yes thats right the latest updates cure the security bug when playing premium members.

Main post updated after testing the latest version of Firefox (42)

If there are any issues following the Firefox update, uninstall all versions of java via the control panel, and reboot, before installing the latest version from the link in the first post.

Another reminder to only download java from JAVA.COM. So may issues end up being caused by budles bloatware from sites like cnet etc.
the__priest
the__priest
Posts: 7,853
21:07 Sun 15 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
the new java still freezes in tournament games, as it did when I played lateo earlier, its not premium members
its tournaments in general
so off it went

and went back to 8 31

don't know if its anything to do with windows 8


it must be happening to others as well
bonfireheart played me a few times recently when I froze
both had double dq as it doesn't log you off, just freezes game room
blueberry
blueberry
Posts: 6,262
21:29 Sun 15 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
I just froze in a tourney final, I checked opponents results while still in room and it said they'd won the tourney as I'd left the room ?

I don't mind this time as in this case the better looking player won

I'll live, the show must go on...........
_knightmare_
_knightmare_
Posts: 14,669
21:58 Sun 15 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
_fresh_ just crashed whilst in the Killer Cup match on 3 lives - he had to leave the room in order for it to be rectified. This server is so intermittent and appears to time out way more than it should ever do. (Error 522).

Could it actually be time to switch from Cloudflare to Incapsula? (Host Servers)

We may not even qualify to the final now due to NO fault of our players!
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
08:46 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Hmm. Without extensive testing it does appear that the "security freeze" error is still present in some combinations.

I have not managed to recreate it using IE, so it may be browser dependant, and could also be related to the dreaded "security software" that still gets promoted so heavily.
fastboysam
fastboysam
Admin
Posts: 697
17:09 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
i've had to go back to java 7 version 51 and I've also gone back to windows 7. I'm on explorer 11.

the ones spinner had tested and were ok, froze my machine again and again....

So it is definitely present and I did not mislead anyone!!

I'm not here to argue, just want to get it fixed!!!
_knightmare_
_knightmare_
Posts: 14,669
17:24 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
I have: Java 8 Update 51 & Java 8 Update 65 BOTH downloaded the Sandbox Security bar still appears from time to time BUT I'm able to click on RUN and it disappears from the screen. Maybe the two versions bounce off each other or cause confusion to the computer.

Either way it works. I'm using Google Chrome with the IE TAB extension through The Chrome Store.

the__priest
the__priest
Posts: 7,853
18:17 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
that's part of the problem
sometimes you cant click run, it freezes and wont let you click either

either way it may work for you Ash but let me tell you it doesn't work for all, the more tournaments you enter the more frequent it is

windows 8 is irritating as well

but I believe this isn't all down to Java
why is the security coming up in the first place
it never used to
it only started when the server was changed 6 to 8 months ago or when ever it was
_knightmare_
_knightmare_
Posts: 14,669
18:27 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Tried disabling the Sandbox Security Banner on the Java (32-bit) Advanced tab?

Edited at 18:44 Mon 16/11/15 (GMT)
the__priest
the__priest
Posts: 7,853
18:30 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
yup
its being ongoing for along long time

its not against premium players either
happened last night in a semi final
and many other non premium players as well as premium

its ok now, ive gone back to 8-31
works fine

32 and 64bit loaded up very nicely no lag no nothing

v happy camper
dgeneratio
dgeneratio
Posts: 38,007
19:00 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
yup
its being ongoing for along long time

its not against premium players either
happened last night in a semi final
and many other non premium players as well as premium

its ok now, ive gone back to 8-31
works fine

32 and 64bit loaded up very nicely no lag no nothing

v happy camper


8u31 seems to be a good fix, been on that version for a while and no problems, the last time i had a problem was the sites fault when java wouldn't work (unfortunately broke my system restore trying to fix it) but since then no issues at all yet on link spinner posts i still see problems so for now i advise everyone to downgrade to 8u31 and not upgrade.

If games require the new java it is a choice i guess
spinner
spinner
Admin
Posts: 8,914
20:31 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Following an evening of guest account testing (to eliminate the possibility of being linked to tournaments or premium membership) using various machines I fear that once again it appears to a be a conflict between Java and Graphics drivers.

This has caused a lot of issues in the past of various kinds and is why its impossible to find a one fix suits all solution.

All people can do is find something that works on their system. Not very helpful I know but thats just how it is. For reference all the combinations used in the first post were with a GeForce GT-9600 card using virtual machines for Win7 and 8.1

Tonight I tried a Raedon X600 powered laptop and an Intel HD5500 - both crashed using Firefox under all 3 versions of windows, IE was fine, all using the latest Java.
derik_dalton
derik_dalton
Posts: 3,793
20:50 Mon 16 Nov 15 (GMT)  [Link]  
Following an evening of guest account testing (to eliminate the possibility of being linked to tournaments or premium membership) using various machines I fear that once again it appears to a be a conflict between Java and Graphics drivers.

This has caused a lot of issues in the past of various kinds and is why its impossible to find a one fix suits all solution.

All people can do is find something that works on their system. Not very helpful I know but thats just how it is. For reference all the combinations used in the first post were with a GeForce GT-9600 card using virtual machines for Win7 and 8.1

Tonight I tried a Raedon X600 powered laptop and an Intel HD5500 - both crashed using Firefox under all 3 versions of windows, IE was fine, all using the latest Java.


its a complete waste of time at the minute, its not just java the site must have problems, it boots me off connection all time, no other site does, now it wont even let me message kris back it just says message 0 cannot be found, drives me mad
Pages: 1
2
349
Unable to post
Reason:You must log in before you can post

Java Solutions - from September 2015

Back to Top of this Page
Back to Game Queries.
Back to Forum List.